ILM Level 5 Principles of Leadership and Management

Who Is The ILM Level 5 Qualification For?

This qualification is designed for new and aspiring department heads, general managers, regional team leaders and other middle managers. Get a thorough grounding in your role and responsibilities, and take the opportunity to consolidate and further develop the key skills you need at this level.

Overview of Qualification

There are five mandatory units which cover the skills and knowledge learners need to be effective at this level, including crucial soft skills, critical thinking abilities, understanding financial concepts, and finding and implementing innovative solutions. The optional units cover a broad range of core and specialist topics. Learners can
work with employers or training providers to find the units that best fit individual and organisational requirements.

ILM Level 5 Principles Course Structure

Qualification TitleCredit ValueStructure
Level 5 Diploma in
Principles of Leadership
and Management
QAN: 600/5857/2
Minimum 37 credits● Two hour induction
● At least nine hours tutorial support
● Five mandatory units*
● Minimum of 4 credits from Group 1
● Maximum of 14 credits from Group 2

Rules of Combination

  • Five mandatory units (19 credits)
  • Minimum of 4 credits from Group 1
  • Maximum of 14 credits from Group 2

Overview of Units

Mandatory Units

ReferenceUnit TitleLevelCredit ValueGLH*
8610-400Understanding the Management Role to Improve Management Performance4415
8610- 501Managing Improvement538
8610-502Making a Financial Case5314
8610-503Developing Critical Thinking5418
8610-504Leading Innovation and Change5524